Present Continuous or Present Simple
1.Put the verb in the correct form, present continuous or present simple. – 3 points (0.3 for each sentence)

1. Let’s go! It isn’t raining (not / rain) now.
2. A liar is someone who doesn’t tell (not / tell) the truth.
3. An interpreter translate (translate) from one language into another.
4. Hurry up! Everybody are waiting (wait) for you.
5. Are you listening (you / listen) to the radio? No, you can turn it off.
6. Do you listen (you / listen) to the radio every day? No, just occasionally.
7. The river Nile flow (flow) into the Mediterranean.
8. The train is never late. It always leave (always / leave) on time.
9. An atheist don’t believe (not / believe) in God.
10. How is your English? Not bad. It improves lovely.

 

  •  Put in a/an or the. – 2 points (0.5 for each sentence)

 

1.This morning I bought a newspaper and a magazine. The newspaper is in my bag and I don’t know where I put a magazine. 

  1. I saw an accident this morning. The car crashed into a tree. The driver of a car wasn’t hurt but a car was badly damaged. 
  2. There are two cars parked outside: the blue one and the grey one.The blue one belongs to my neighbours; I don’t know who an owner of the grey one is.
  3. My friends live in an old house in a small village. There is a beautiful garden behind the house. I would like to have a garden like that.  

 

 

  • Put the verbs into the correct form, past continuous or past simple. – 3 points (0.3 points for each sentence)

 

  1. Jane was waiting (wait) for me when I arrived (arrive).
  2. What were doing (you / do) this time yesterday? I was asleep.
  3. Did you go out last night? No, I was too tired.
  4. She wasn’t hungry, so she didn’t eat (eat) anything.
  5. It was a funny situation, but nobody laughed (laugh).
  6. I was in a hurry, so I was have time to phone you.
  7. When I was young, I was want to be a singer.
  8. I walking (walk) along the street when suddenly I heared (hear) footsteps behind me. Somebody tollowing (follow) me. I was frightened and I started (start) to run. 
  9. We went to Kate’s house but she (be) at home. 

10. It was hard work carrying the bags. They  (be) very heavy.